Home
Biggest Myths in Softball
by posted 07/24/2015

  • The hands are considered part of the bat.  FALSE
    • If a batter is hit with a pitch on the hands, it is simply a dead ball and the batter is awarded first base. Remember that anytime a batter is hit, it is ALWAYS a dead ball. If the batter is swinging and the ball contacts her hands first, we have a DEAD BALL/ STRIKE. If the ball contacts the batter in the strike zone…same result – if it is the third strike in either of these cases – the batter is out.
  • The batter-runner must turn to her right after over-running first base.  FALSE
    • The runner is protected back to first base regardless of which way they turn as long as they don’t make an attempt or feint towards second base (umpire judgement).  Merely turning to the left, and/or being in fair territory, does NOT put the runner in jeopardy of being tagged out unless they make an attempt to advance to 2nd.  See ASA 8-7-H and 8-8-I.  Also ASA POE#32
  • The batter may not switch batter's boxes after two strikes.  FALSE
    • The batter may switch at any time in the count as long as she does not switch sides once the pitcher is on the rubber taking her signs.  See ASA 7-3-D
Share this